I need a holiday!

Sitting here in the dark, alone, confused and a little lonely, recovering from a pointless test about plants, trying desperately to block out the sound of my house mate shagging in the room opposite, makes me wonder. Have I made the right choices?

I made the right choice to change my course from Psychology to Animal behaviour and welfare. Of that I’m sure. But was I right to go to university in the first place? What would have happened if I’d gone straight into a job? What if I’d gone travelling? I’ve always wanted to explore the world. Maybe I could be somewhere exotic right now? Somewhere hot, somewhere by the ocean?

I’m only a first year again and it’s the most frustrating thing. Seeing all your friends applying to go on placement year, planning on moving away next year. I’ve even been doing some early research and I’ve found some of the most incredible experiences but I cannot go for another two years! I could be going to Madagascar, back to Costa Rica, Thailand, Mexico, Australia, South Africa! I know my education is the most important thing, but right now, my will to stay in this country is very,  very weak.

I don’t care about money. I’m going on holiday next year. Even if I have to swim.

Leave a Reply

