Today, my life flashed before my eyes.

Have you ever had one of those moments, those near-death experiences, where your life suddenly flashes before your eyes?

Those moments that you don’t see coming, the ones that suddenly just jump out in front of you.

One minute, you’re just strolling down the street, or stepping out of a shop, or crossing the road, just casually minding your own business, then BAM… you’re hit by a push bike.

Okay, so I’m exaggerating.

My life didn’t flash before my eyes. It wasn’t a near-death experience. I didn’t even get hurt, with the exception of a grazed arm and a severely bruised ego. The worst thing is, this isn’t the first time this has happened to me. I have been run down by a bike on two occasions now, both times in a public place, both times I’ve stacked it onto the floor, both times very embarrassing, both times my fault. The worst part was that when I got back into the car, my mum was laughing so hard that she couldn’t drive us home for about five minutes. Charming.

I think I must go into some sort of trance when I’m walking that makes me oblivious to people on their bikes. Either that or I should really start wearing my glasses more often. Hopefully next time it won’t be a bus.

Leave a Reply

