Would you like to see into the future?

If you could go forward in time and see yourself in the future, would you?

Would you like to know what you look like? Where you live? What your job is? Do you have kids? Do they look like you? Are you married?

Would your life be what you expected? Would you happy with it? Or would you try to change it?

A friend of mine has literally planned her life out to a tee. She’s already picked out her children’s names, planned her wedding down to the colour of the bridesmaids dresses and flower arrangements. Her dream is to have children, to have a family. I admire her in some ways, the fact she knows what she wants when I don’t have a clue! But what if, for some reason you can’t predict, her dream can’t come true. What if, by some trick of fates, she can’t have kids? Wouldn’t it be harder, after spending so much of your life wanting, if you don’t achieve? Would you rather know if you could? Surely it would save you disappointment in the future?  And that way you can work towards different goals?

Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment

– Buddha

I’m curious about my future, of course I am, isn’t everyone? But would I like to know what happens? Most of the time, probably not. Some days, maybe I think would, just to check I’ve made the right decisions. But if you know what’s going to happen then really, what is the point in life?

Pick the day. Enjoy it – to the hilt. The day as it comes. People as they come… The past, I think, has helped me appreciate the present – and I don’t want to spoil any of it by fretting about the future.

– Audrey Hepburn

2 thoughts on “Would you like to see into the future?

  1. I can’t lie, sometimes I do wonder about my future. But I do not really want to know what is going to happen because that would make life boring.
    Life is about adventure and taking risks in order to uncover our next mission. If I knew what was already set for me, I would not be excited to start me day.

Leave a Reply

